Dyson vs Philips air purifiers: which to buy in Australia
Quick answer: If you are buying purely to clean the air, buy Philips: it publishes CADR tested to a stated standard, and a Philips 2200 (420 m³/h, from $357) or 3200 (520 m³/h, $399) costs less than any Dyson here. Buy a Dyson if you want a fan in summer as well (the TP07 is $649) or a five-year filter in a compact unit (the HushJet Compact is $549), knowing Dyson does not publish a CADR on these listings.
We may earn a commission when you buy through links on this page. It does not change what we recommend. How this works.
Our picks at a glance
| Product | Philips Best value overallPureProtect 2200 Series (AC2220 / AC2221)$357 Appliances Online | Dyson Best Dyson purifierHushJet Purifier Compact (HJ10)$549 Dyson | Philips Best for big roomsPureProtect 3200 Series (AC3220)$399 JB Hi-Fi | Dyson Best fan and purifierPurifier Cool TP07$649 Appliances Online | Philips Most Philips powerPureProtect Pro 4200 Series (AC4220 / AC4221)$518 Appliances Online | Dyson Dyson for big spacesPurifier Big+Quiet Formaldehyde (BP03)$1,499 Appliances Online |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CADR | 420 m³/h (Philips, GB/T 18801-2022) | Not published on Dyson's page | 520 m³/h (Philips, GB/T 18801-2022) | Not published; airflow 290 m³/h | 600 m³/h | Not published on the pages we read |
| Rated room | Up to 109 m² | Up to 100 m², based on 1 air change an hour (Dyson) | Up to 135 m² | Not stated on the pages we read | Up to 156 m² | Not stated on the pages we read |
| Filter | FY2200/30, up to 3 years | Electrostatic plus carbon, up to 5 years | FY3200/30 (2 filters), up to 1 year | Sealed HEPA H13 plus carbon | FY4200/30 (2 filters), up to 1 year | Sealed HEPA H13 plus carbon |
| Why it's here | 420 m³/h CADR, three-year filter, from $357: the cheapest way into either brand. | Sealed, five-year filter, 24 dB in Sleep mode; $549 at Dyson, JB Hi-Fi and The Good Guys. | 520 m³/h from 36 W for $399, less than the HushJet. | Cools you in summer and purifies through a sealed HEPA H13 filter; $649. | 600 m³/h and five sensors, from $518. | Long-throw airflow at 56 dB on full speed; $1,499. |
| Watch out for | Appliances Online lists 45 dB when working, so the top speed is far from silent | Dyson gives a room size at one air change an hour and no CADR, so it is hard to compare | Two filters a year at $159 makes it the dearest Philips here to run | Airflow is not CADR; Dyson does not publish a clean air figure on these listings | Two filters a year at $179 | $1,499, nearly three Philips 4200s |
| Buy | Check Amazon$357 at Appliances Online$449 at JB Hi-Fi | Check Amazon$549 at Dyson$549 at JB Hi-Fi$549 at The Good Guys$612 at Appliances Online | Check Amazon$399 at JB Hi-Fi$399 at The Good Guys$466 at Appliances Online | $649 at Appliances Online$649 at The Good Guys | Check Amazon$518 at Appliances Online$649 at JB Hi-Fi | Check Amazon$1,499 at Appliances Online |
420 m³/h CADR, three-year filter, from $357: the cheapest way into either brand.
$357 at Appliances Online · checked 18 Oct 2026
Sealed, five-year filter, 24 dB in Sleep mode; $549 at Dyson, JB Hi-Fi and The Good Guys.
$549 at Dyson · checked 18 Oct 2026
520 m³/h from 36 W for $399, less than the HushJet.
$399 at JB Hi-Fi · checked 18 Oct 2026
Cools you in summer and purifies through a sealed HEPA H13 filter; $649.
$649 at Appliances Online · checked 18 Oct 2026
600 m³/h and five sensors, from $518.
$518 at Appliances Online · checked 18 Oct 2026
Long-throw airflow at 56 dB on full speed; $1,499.
$1,499 at Appliances Online · checked 18 Oct 2026
How we picked: We compared these 6 picks on cadr, rated room, filter and price, using maker specs, Australian retailer prices and owner reports. We haven't tested them hands-on yet, and maker claims are labelled as theirs. Commission never changes the order. Full method.
Dyson and Philips are the two brands most people end up choosing between, and they sell very different things. Philips sells purifiers and publishes the numbers that let you compare them. Dyson sells sealed machines, often with a fan built in, and publishes fewer numbers. Prices below are from Appliances Online, JB Hi-Fi, The Good Guys and Dyson on 18 October 2026; for the models also on Amazon Australia, check the current price on Amazon. We compared maker specifications and retailer listings; we have not tested these purifiers side by side.
The short version
| Philips 2200 | Dyson HushJet Compact | Philips 3200 | Dyson TP07 | Philips 4200 | Dyson Big+Quiet BP03 | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lowest price we found | $357 | $549 | $399 | $649 | $518 | $1,499 |
| CADR published | 420 m³/h | No | 520 m³/h | No (290 m³/h airflow) | 600 m³/h | No |
| Room size basis | 109 m² | 100 m² at 1 air change an hour | 135 m² | Not stated | 156 m² | Not stated |
| Filter life | Up to 3 years | Up to 5 years | Up to 1 year | Not stated on listings | Up to 1 year | Not stated on listings |
| Genuine filter | $109 | None for 5 years | $159 (pair) | Check Dyson | $179 (pair) | Check Dyson |
| Also a fan | No | No | No | Yes | No | No |
Published numbers: Philips states them, Dyson mostly does not
Philips gives a CADR for each model and says how it was tested: to the Chinese standard GB/T 18801-2022 by a third-party lab, and for the 3200 it names the standard its room size is calculated to (NRCC-54013). That lets you work out air changes per hour for your room, which is the honest way to size any purifier (our main air purifier guide shows the sum).
Dyson’s page for the HushJet Compact rates it for rooms “up to 100m²” and footnotes that figure: “Based on 1 ACH”, one air change an hour. It gives no CADR. The TP07’s Appliances Online listing quotes a maximum airflow of 290 m³/h, which is how much air the fan moves, not how much filtered air it delivers. The Big+Quiet listings we read gave neither. None of this means Dyson’s machines filter poorly; Dyson says its purifiers are fully sealed so air cannot bypass the filter, which is a real design point. It does mean you cannot put a Dyson and a Philips side by side on clean-air output.
Price for price
Around $400 to $550. The Philips 2200 ($357 at Appliances Online, $449 at JB Hi-Fi) and Philips 3200 ($399 at JB Hi-Fi and The Good Guys) against the Dyson HushJet Compact ($549 at Dyson, JB Hi-Fi and The Good Guys; $612 at Appliances Online). The Philips 3200’s 520 m³/h for $150 less is the stronger buy for clean air. The HushJet’s case is its five-year filter and compact, quiet design (24 dB in Sleep mode).
Around $650. The Dyson TP07 ($649 at Appliances Online and The Good Guys) is a 105 cm tower fan with a sealed HEPA H13 filter and 350-degree oscillation. The Philips 4200 ($518 at Appliances Online, $649 at JB Hi-Fi) is a pure purifier with a 600 m³/h CADR and PM2.5, gas, allergen, temperature and humidity sensors. If you would otherwise buy a pedestal fan for summer, the TP07 replaces two appliances; if not, the Philips moves more clean air. Dyson’s newer Purifier Cool PC1 shows why it pays to shop around: it was $599 at JB Hi-Fi and $878 at Appliances Online on the same day.
Over $1,000. The Dyson Big+Quiet BP03 is $1,499 at Appliances Online, built to throw air across big rooms at 56 dB on full speed. Philips has nothing at that price in this range; two Philips 4200s cost less and add up to 1,200 m³/h of published CADR.
Running costs
Philips’ smaller filters cost more over time than the headline price suggests: $159 a year for the 3200 pair and $179 for the 4200 pair at JB Hi-Fi, or $109 every three years for the 2200. Philips’ own filter pages carry owner complaints about FY3200 and FY0910 filters being out of stock, so a spare is worth buying. Dyson’s HushJet Compact filter is rated for five years, tested to a 50 percent drop in CADR at 12 hours a day. On power, Philips gives 36 W for the 3200 and 54 W for the 4200 at full speed, and its Amazon listing gives 28 W for the 2200; the Dyson listings we read did not give power figures.
Where to buy
Both brands sell through Appliances Online, JB Hi-Fi, The Good Guys and Amazon Australia, where the Philips purifiers, the HushJet Compact and the Big+Quiet were all sold by Amazon AU itself on the day we checked. Dyson also sells direct and advertises 45-day returns with a money-back guarantee. Appliances Online offers a full refund on unopened items within 30 days of delivery. Faulty products are covered under the Australian Consumer Law wherever you buy.
Which to buy
- Clean air per dollar: Philips 3200, or the 2200 for a bedroom.
- A fan in summer and a purifier all year: Dyson TP07. It cools you with moving air; it does not lower the room temperature. For that, see the portable air conditioner guide.
- Least maintenance in a small room: Dyson HushJet Compact, or the Shark NeverChange5 if you want a cheaper five-year filter (see the main guide).
- Smoke season: whichever gives your sealed room about five air changes an hour on high; the bushfire smoke guide sizes it.
The one trap
Comparing Dyson’s airflow with Philips’ CADR. The TP07’s 290 m³/h is how much air the fan moves; Philips’ 420 m³/h for the 2200 is how much filtered air it delivers in a standard test. They are different measurements, and the second is the one that predicts how fast a room clears. Where a brand gives only a room size, check the footnote for the air-change basis, as Dyson’s does.
The picks in detail
Philips PureProtect 2200 Series (AC2220 / AC2221)
$357 at appliancesonline.com.au · checked 18 Oct 2026
420 m³/h CADR, three-year filter, from $357: the cheapest way into either brand.
- CADR: 420 m³/h (Philips, GB/T 18801-2022)
- Rated room: Up to 109 m²
- Noise: From 13 dB(A)
- Power: 28 W (Amazon listing)
- Filter: FY2200/30, up to 3 years
- Filter cost: $109 (JB Hi-Fi)
- Warranty: 2 years
Pros
- High CADR for its size: Philips says it clears a 20 m² room in under 7 minutes
- Filter rated for up to 3 years, so the yearly filter cost is low
- Philips' quietest purifier, from 13 dB(A) on the lowest setting
- App control and an air quality sensor that sets the fan speed
Cons
- Appliances Online lists 45 dB when working, so the top speed is far from silent
- Amazon's listing quotes 400 m³/h and 104 m², a little below Philips' own figures
- The 109 m² room rating is generous; size it on air changes, not the box
Paid links: we may earn a commission. Price checked 18 Oct 2026.
Dyson HushJet Purifier Compact (HJ10)
$549 at dyson.com.au · checked 18 Oct 2026
Sealed, five-year filter, 24 dB in Sleep mode; $549 at Dyson, JB Hi-Fi and The Good Guys.
- CADR: Not published on Dyson's page
- Rated room: Up to 100 m², based on 1 air change an hour (Dyson)
- Noise: 24 dB in Sleep mode
- Power: Not stated on the pages we read
- Filter: Electrostatic plus carbon, up to 5 years
- Filter cost: None expected for up to 5 years
- Warranty: 2 years
Pros
- Fully sealed, so air cannot bypass the filter
- Filter rated for five years (Dyson, tested to GB/T 18801-2022 at 12 hours a day)
- Same $549 at Dyson, JB Hi-Fi and The Good Guys
Cons
- Dyson gives a room size at one air change an hour and no CADR, so it is hard to compare
- $549 buys a Philips 3200 with a published 520 m³/h CADR and change
Paid links: we may earn a commission. Price checked 18 Oct 2026.
Philips PureProtect 3200 Series (AC3220)
$399 at jbhifi.com.au · checked 18 Oct 2026
520 m³/h from 36 W for $399, less than the HushJet.
- CADR: 520 m³/h (Philips, GB/T 18801-2022)
- Rated room: Up to 135 m²
- Noise: From 15 dB(A)
- Power: 36 W at maximum
- Filter: FY3200/30 (2 filters), up to 1 year
- Filter cost: $159 (JB Hi-Fi)
- Warranty: 2 years
Pros
- Two fans and a 520 m³/h CADR in a 52 cm tower
- Draws only 36 W at full speed, so it can run all day in smoke season
- $399 at JB Hi-Fi and The Good Guys, only about $40 more than the 2200 on sale
Cons
- Two filters a year at $159 makes it the dearest Philips here to run
- Philips' own filter page carries owner complaints about FY3200 filters being out of stock
- Amazon showed 1 to 2 months to dispatch on the day we checked
Paid links: we may earn a commission. Price checked 18 Oct 2026.
Dyson Purifier Cool TP07
$649 at appliancesonline.com.au · checked 18 Oct 2026
Cools you in summer and purifies through a sealed HEPA H13 filter; $649.
- CADR: Not published; airflow 290 m³/h
- Rated room: Not stated on the pages we read
- Noise: Not stated
- Power: Not stated on the pages we read
- Filter: Sealed HEPA H13 plus carbon
- Filter cost: Check Dyson for the TP07 filter
- Warranty: 2 years
Pros
- A fan and a purifier in one: cools you in summer, or diffused mode purifies without the breeze
- Sealed to HEPA H13 with 350-degree oscillation
- $300 under its $949 RRP at Appliances Online
Cons
- Airflow is not CADR; Dyson does not publish a clean air figure on these listings
- A 105 cm tower for the price of two high-CADR purifiers
Paid links: we may earn a commission. Price checked 18 Oct 2026.
Philips PureProtect Pro 4200 Series (AC4220 / AC4221)
$518 at appliancesonline.com.au · checked 18 Oct 2026
600 m³/h and five sensors, from $518.
- CADR: 600 m³/h
- Rated room: Up to 156 m²
- Noise: From 15 dB
- Power: 54 W at maximum
- Filter: FY4200/30 (2 filters), up to 1 year
- Filter cost: $179 (JB Hi-Fi)
- Warranty: 2 years
Pros
- The highest CADR Philips sells here: 20 m² in under 5 minutes, Philips says
- PM2.5, gas, allergen, temperature and humidity sensors
- Double active carbon layer for gases
Cons
- Two filters a year at $179
- Price swings: $518 at Appliances Online, $649 at JB Hi-Fi and The Good Guys
Paid links: we may earn a commission. Price checked 18 Oct 2026.
Dyson Purifier Big+Quiet Formaldehyde (BP03)
$1,499 at appliancesonline.com.au · checked 18 Oct 2026
Long-throw airflow at 56 dB on full speed; $1,499.
- CADR: Not published on the pages we read
- Rated room: Not stated on the pages we read
- Noise: 56 dB at full speed
- Power: Not stated on the pages we read
- Filter: Sealed HEPA H13 plus carbon
- Filter cost: Check Dyson
- Warranty: 2 years
Pros
- Throws air a long way at 0, 25 or 50 degrees, for big rooms
- 56 dB at full speed is quiet for a large purifier
- Hidden wheels and a no-touch filter change
Cons
- $1,499, nearly three Philips 4200s
- 11.9 kg and 83 cm tall
- No CADR on the listings we read
Paid links: we may earn a commission. Price checked 18 Oct 2026.
Frequently asked questions
Is Dyson or Philips better for air purifiers?
On the published numbers, Philips gives more clean air per dollar: it states CADR (420 to 600 m³/h across the 2200, 3200 and 4200) tested to GB/T 18801-2022, and those models cost $357 to $649. Dyson's strengths are elsewhere: fully sealed machines, a five-year filter on the HushJet Compact, and purifiers that double as fans.
Does Dyson publish a CADR for its air purifiers?
Not on the Australian pages and listings we read. Dyson's page for the HushJet Compact rates it for rooms up to 100 m² and footnotes that figure as 'based on 1 ACH', one air change an hour. Appliances Online lists a 290 m³/h maximum airflow for the TP07, but airflow is not clean air delivery.
Which lasts longer between filter changes, Dyson or Philips?
The Dyson HushJet Compact's filter is rated for five years (tested to a 50 percent drop in CADR at 12 hours a day). The Philips 2200's filter is rated for up to three years ($109 at JB Hi-Fi), and the 3200 and 4200 for up to one year ($159 and $179 for a pair).
Can a Dyson purifier cool a room like an air conditioner?
No. The TP07 and other Purifier Cool models are fans: they move air over you, which feels cooler, but they do not lower the room temperature. For that you need a refrigerated air conditioner; see our portable air conditioner guide.
Where can I buy Dyson and Philips purifiers in Australia?
Both sell through Appliances Online, JB Hi-Fi, The Good Guys and Amazon Australia, and Dyson also sells direct. Prices differed by up to $279 for the same Dyson model between retailers on the day we checked, so compare before buying.