The best air purifiers for bushfire smoke
Quick answer: Pick one room you can close up, then buy a HEPA purifier with enough CADR to change its air at least five times an hour on high. For a bedroom up to about 20 m², the Click CADR 400 ($159 at Bunnings) does it. For a living area up to about 40 m², the Philips 3200 (520 m³/h, $399) does it on 36 W. NSW Health says purifiers work in small, well-sealed areas, and ionisers and odour absorbers do not remove smoke particles.
We may earn a commission when you buy through links on this page. It does not change what we recommend. How this works.
Our picks at a glance
| Product | Philips Best for smoke seasonPureProtect 3200 Series (AC3220)$399 JB Hi-Fi | Click Best budgetCADR 400 Air Purifier (TL2852)$159 Bunnings | Levoit Best with a PM2.5 readoutCore 400S$399 Bunnings | Philips Most Philips powerPureProtect Pro 4200 Series (AC4220 / AC4221)$518 Appliances Online | Levoit Best for open-plan roomsCore 600S$599 Bunnings | Philips Best all-year buyPureProtect 2200 Series (AC2220 / AC2221)$357 Appliances Online |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CADR | 520 m³/h (Philips, GB/T 18801-2022) | 400 m³/h | 433 m³/h (Amazon listing) | 600 m³/h | 697 m³/h (Amazon listing) | 420 m³/h (Philips, GB/T 18801-2022) |
| Power | 36 W at maximum | 45 W maximum | 38 W (Amazon listing) | 54 W at maximum | 66 W (Amazon listing) | 28 W (Amazon listing) |
| Filter cost | $159 (JB Hi-Fi) | Not listed on the Bunnings page | $79 (JB Hi-Fi) | $179 (JB Hi-Fi) | $119 (JB Hi-Fi) | $109 (JB Hi-Fi) |
| Why it's here | 520 m³/h from 36 W, so running it flat out for days is cheap; $399. | 400 m³/h for $159 at Bunnings: enough for a sealed bedroom on high. | 433 m³/h and a laser PM2.5 display, so you can see the room clear; $399. | 600 m³/h, PM2.5 and gas sensors, a double carbon layer; from $518. | 697 m³/h, enough for a 50 m² room at five changes an hour; $599. | 420 m³/h and a three-year filter, so it earns its place outside smoke season too. |
| Watch out for | Two filters a year at $159 makes it the dearest Philips here to run | No published noise figure or filter life | Room claims vary by listing: 90 m² at Bunnings, 166 m² once an hour on Amazon | Two filters a year at $179 | Big: 60 cm tall and 6.2 kg | Appliances Online lists 45 dB when working, so the top speed is far from silent |
| Buy | Check Amazon$399 at JB Hi-Fi$399 at The Good Guys$466 at Appliances Online | $159 at Bunnings | Check Amazon$399 at Bunnings$399 at JB Hi-Fi | Check Amazon$518 at Appliances Online$649 at JB Hi-Fi | Check Amazon$599 at Bunnings$599 at JB Hi-Fi | Check Amazon$357 at Appliances Online$449 at JB Hi-Fi |
520 m³/h from 36 W, so running it flat out for days is cheap; $399.
$399 at JB Hi-Fi · checked 18 Oct 2026
400 m³/h for $159 at Bunnings: enough for a sealed bedroom on high.
$159 at Bunnings · checked 18 Oct 2026
433 m³/h and a laser PM2.5 display, so you can see the room clear; $399.
$399 at Bunnings · checked 18 Oct 2026
600 m³/h, PM2.5 and gas sensors, a double carbon layer; from $518.
$518 at Appliances Online · checked 18 Oct 2026
697 m³/h, enough for a 50 m² room at five changes an hour; $599.
$599 at Bunnings · checked 18 Oct 2026
420 m³/h and a three-year filter, so it earns its place outside smoke season too.
$357 at Appliances Online · checked 18 Oct 2026
How we picked: We compared these 6 picks on cadr, power, filter cost and price, using maker specs, Australian retailer prices and owner reports. We haven't tested them hands-on yet, and maker claims are labelled as theirs. Commission never changes the order. Full method.
Bushfire smoke is mostly fine particles, and a HEPA purifier is one of the few things you can buy that takes them out of a room’s air. It only works inside the limits the health agencies set out, so this guide starts with their advice and then sizes purifiers to it. Prices are from Bunnings, JB Hi-Fi, The Good Guys and Appliances Online on 18 October 2026; for the models also on Amazon Australia, check the current price on Amazon. We compared maker specifications and retailer listings; we have not tested these purifiers in smoke.
What the health agencies say
NSW Health’s page on protecting yourself from bushfire smoke puts staying indoors and keeping indoor air clean first: close windows and doors, switch the air conditioner to recirculate, do not use evaporative coolers because they bring outdoor air in, and avoid indoor sources such as candles and incense. It suggests considering an air purifier with a HEPA filter, and says that to work well it “must be used in small, well-sealed areas”. It also says humidifiers, negative ion generators and odour absorbers do not remove the fine particles in bushfire smoke.
EPA Victoria’s fact sheet on smoke and portable indoor air cleaners adds the practical detail:
- Use a purifier with a True HEPA filter, and take the filter out of its plastic bag before use.
- Purifiers work better in rooms smaller than the maker’s maximum room size; high ceilings need a bigger unit, and a big room may need two.
- Run it in a well-sealed room with doors and windows closed, seal gaps under doors and around windows, and keep people going in and out to a minimum.
- Run it continuously on a high fan speed, away from furniture that blocks the airflow.
EPA Victoria is also candid that while overseas studies have found these devices useful, there is no evidence yet on how well they work in Australian homes. If you are in a group the agencies call more sensitive to smoke, follow your doctor’s advice; a purifier is one step, not a treatment.
Size it for one sealed room
Pick the room you will actually shelter in, usually a bedroom or a closed living area, not the whole house. Then size on air changes per hour: CADR divided by room volume. We use five changes an hour on high as a working target. That is our rule of thumb, not an agency figure, chosen because the agencies stress a small room and a high fan speed, and five changes gives headroom for the gaps every house has.
| Room (2.4 m ceiling) | Volume | CADR for 5 changes an hour | Purifiers here that reach it |
|---|---|---|---|
| 10 m² study | 24 m³ | 120 m³/h | All six |
| 15 m² bedroom | 36 m³ | 180 m³/h | All six |
| 20 m² main bedroom | 48 m³ | 240 m³/h | All six |
| 30 m² living room | 72 m³ | 360 m³/h | All six |
| 40 m² living area | 96 m³ | 480 m³/h | Philips 3200, 4200, Levoit 600S |
| 50 m² open plan | 120 m³ | 600 m³/h | Philips 4200, Levoit 600S |
For a 2.7 m ceiling, add about an eighth to the CADR needed. If your room is bigger than the last row, EPA Victoria’s advice is a second purifier rather than a bigger claim on a box.
The picks
The Philips 3200 is our smoke-season pick because it pairs a high CADR (520 m³/h, tested to GB/T 18801-2022, per Philips) with a low power draw: 36 W at full speed, or about 0.86 kWh a day running flat out around the clock. That matters when the advice is to run it on high for days. It was $399 at JB Hi-Fi and The Good Guys. The catch is the filter: two filters at $159, rated for up to a year in normal use, and Philips’ filter page carries owner complaints about stock. Buy a spare set before December.
The Click CADR 400 is the budget answer for a bedroom: 400 m³/h with a HEPA 13 filter for $159 at Bunnings, 45 W at most. Bunnings lists no noise figure or replacement filter, so check the shelf for filters before you rely on it.
The Levoit Core 400S (433 m³/h, $399 at Bunnings and JB Hi-Fi) shows a live PM2.5 reading, which is a useful way to see whether your sealed room is actually clearing. Its genuine filter is $79 at JB Hi-Fi.
For bigger rooms, the Philips 4200 reaches 600 m³/h with PM2.5 and gas sensors and a double carbon layer ($518 at Appliances Online, $649 at JB Hi-Fi), and the Levoit Core 600S reaches 697 m³/h for $599, enough to give a 50 m² open-plan room five changes an hour. The Philips 2200 (420 m³/h) is the best buy if you want one purifier that earns its keep all year, with a filter rated for up to three years in normal use.
Filters in smoke season
Filter life figures assume ordinary household air. Philips says its filter lifetime depends on air quality and usage, and a week of heavy smoke is not ordinary. Two practical steps: buy the replacement filter before the season (JB Hi-Fi listed the Philips 2200 filter at $109, the 3200 pair at $159, the 4200 pair at $179 and the Levoit 400S filter at $79), and check the filter indicator after each smoke event rather than waiting for the yearly reminder. The carbon layer deals with smoke smell and fills up faster than the HEPA layer.
What not to buy for smoke
NSW Health names three things that do not remove fine smoke particles: humidifiers, negative ion generators and odour absorbers. Add evaporative coolers, which it says bring outdoor air inside. Also skip “air purifier fans” and fragrance units sold without a CADR or a HEPA filter. If you also need cooling in a closed-up room, the portable air conditioner guide covers refrigerated units; NSW Health’s advice is to recirculate indoor air, not to bring outside air in.
The main air purifier guide covers everyday use, and the home page lists every guide.
The one trap
Running the purifier on auto or sleep mode. Auto mode lowers the fan as soon as its sensor sees improvement, and the CADR on the box is only reached at top speed. EPA Victoria’s advice is continuous high speed in a closed room. If high is too loud to sleep with, buy more CADR than you need so a middle speed still reaches five changes an hour.
The picks in detail
Philips PureProtect 3200 Series (AC3220)
$399 at jbhifi.com.au · checked 18 Oct 2026
520 m³/h from 36 W, so running it flat out for days is cheap; $399.
- CADR: 520 m³/h (Philips, GB/T 18801-2022)
- Rated room: Up to 135 m²
- Noise: From 15 dB(A)
- Power: 36 W at maximum
- Filter: FY3200/30 (2 filters), up to 1 year
- Filter cost: $159 (JB Hi-Fi)
- Warranty: 2 years
Pros
- Two fans and a 520 m³/h CADR in a 52 cm tower
- Draws only 36 W at full speed, so it can run all day in smoke season
- $399 at JB Hi-Fi and The Good Guys, only about $40 more than the 2200 on sale
Cons
- Two filters a year at $159 makes it the dearest Philips here to run
- Philips' own filter page carries owner complaints about FY3200 filters being out of stock
- Amazon showed 1 to 2 months to dispatch on the day we checked
Paid links: we may earn a commission. Price checked 18 Oct 2026.
Click CADR 400 Air Purifier (TL2852)
$159 at bunnings.com.au · checked 18 Oct 2026
400 m³/h for $159 at Bunnings: enough for a sealed bedroom on high.
- CADR: 400 m³/h
- Rated room: 28 to 48 m² (Bunnings)
- Noise: Not stated
- Power: 45 W maximum
- Filter: Pre-filter, HEPA 13 and carbon
- Filter cost: Not listed on the Bunnings page
- Warranty: Not stated on the listing
Pros
- 400 m³/h for $159, the most CADR per dollar we found
- An honest room rating: 28 to 48 m², which works out at roughly three to six air changes an hour
- Bunnings returns and in-store pick-up
Cons
- No published noise figure or filter life
- No app; auto mode runs off a simple air quality light
- We could not find its replacement filter listed at Bunnings
Paid links: we may earn a commission. Price checked 18 Oct 2026.
Levoit Core 400S
$399 at bunnings.com.au · checked 18 Oct 2026
433 m³/h and a laser PM2.5 display, so you can see the room clear; $399.
- CADR: 433 m³/h (Amazon listing)
- Rated room: Up to 90 m² (Bunnings, JB Hi-Fi)
- Noise: From 24 dB
- Power: 38 W (Amazon listing)
- Filter: Core 400S-RF, replace every 12 months
- Filter cost: $79 (JB Hi-Fi)
- Warranty: 2 years (Levoit)
Pros
- 433 m³/h CADR for $399, with a PM2.5 laser sensor and display
- Sold at Bunnings, JB Hi-Fi and by Levoit's own Amazon store
- Genuine filter $79 a year
Cons
- Room claims vary by listing: 90 m² at Bunnings, 166 m² once an hour on Amazon
- Special order at Bunnings, not on the shelf
Paid links: we may earn a commission. Price checked 18 Oct 2026.
Philips PureProtect Pro 4200 Series (AC4220 / AC4221)
$518 at appliancesonline.com.au · checked 18 Oct 2026
600 m³/h, PM2.5 and gas sensors, a double carbon layer; from $518.
- CADR: 600 m³/h
- Rated room: Up to 156 m²
- Noise: From 15 dB
- Power: 54 W at maximum
- Filter: FY4200/30 (2 filters), up to 1 year
- Filter cost: $179 (JB Hi-Fi)
- Warranty: 2 years
Pros
- The highest CADR Philips sells here: 20 m² in under 5 minutes, Philips says
- PM2.5, gas, allergen, temperature and humidity sensors
- Double active carbon layer for gases
Cons
- Two filters a year at $179
- Price swings: $518 at Appliances Online, $649 at JB Hi-Fi and The Good Guys
Paid links: we may earn a commission. Price checked 18 Oct 2026.
Levoit Core 600S
$599 at bunnings.com.au · checked 18 Oct 2026
697 m³/h, enough for a 50 m² room at five changes an hour; $599.
- CADR: 697 m³/h (Amazon listing)
- Rated room: 147 m² at two air changes an hour (Levoit)
- Noise: From 26 to 28 dB in Sleep mode
- Power: 66 W (Amazon listing)
- Filter: Core 600S filter
- Filter cost: $119 (JB Hi-Fi)
- Warranty: 2 years (Levoit)
Pros
- The highest CADR here, enough for an open-plan living area
- Handles at both ends; light sensor dims the display at night
- Same $599 at Bunnings and JB Hi-Fi
Cons
- Big: 60 cm tall and 6.2 kg
- Bunnings says 148 m² five times an hour, which its CADR cannot do; Levoit's Amazon figure is two air changes
Paid links: we may earn a commission. Price checked 18 Oct 2026.
Philips PureProtect 2200 Series (AC2220 / AC2221)
$357 at appliancesonline.com.au · checked 18 Oct 2026
420 m³/h and a three-year filter, so it earns its place outside smoke season too.
- CADR: 420 m³/h (Philips, GB/T 18801-2022)
- Rated room: Up to 109 m²
- Noise: From 13 dB(A)
- Power: 28 W (Amazon listing)
- Filter: FY2200/30, up to 3 years
- Filter cost: $109 (JB Hi-Fi)
- Warranty: 2 years
Pros
- High CADR for its size: Philips says it clears a 20 m² room in under 7 minutes
- Filter rated for up to 3 years, so the yearly filter cost is low
- Philips' quietest purifier, from 13 dB(A) on the lowest setting
- App control and an air quality sensor that sets the fan speed
Cons
- Appliances Online lists 45 dB when working, so the top speed is far from silent
- Amazon's listing quotes 400 m³/h and 104 m², a little below Philips' own figures
- The 109 m² room rating is generous; size it on air changes, not the box
Paid links: we may earn a commission. Price checked 18 Oct 2026.
Frequently asked questions
Do air purifiers work for bushfire smoke?
Government agencies recommend them as one step. NSW Health suggests considering a purifier with a HEPA filter to remove smoke from indoor air, and says it must be used in small, well-sealed areas to work well. EPA Victoria notes overseas studies found them useful but that there is no evidence yet on how well they work in Australian homes.
What CADR do I need for bushfire smoke?
Our rule of thumb, not a government figure, is five air changes an hour in the room you shelter in. Multiply floor area by ceiling height, then by five: a 20 m² bedroom with a 2.4 m ceiling needs about 240 m³/h, a 40 m² living area about 480 m³/h.
Should I run my air purifier all the time when it is smoky?
Yes. EPA Victoria's fact sheet says to run a portable air cleaner continuously on a high fan speed, in a room with doors and windows closed, away from furniture that blocks the airflow.
Can I use an evaporative cooler during bushfire smoke?
NSW Health says not to, because evaporative coolers bring outdoor air inside. It suggests switching a refrigerated air conditioner to recirculate if it has that setting.
Does a HEPA filter remove the smell of smoke?
HEPA filters are for particles. The smell comes partly from gases, which is what the activated carbon layer in purifiers such as the Philips and Levoit models is for. Carbon fills up, so expect to change filters sooner after a smoky season.