The best air purifiers in Australia

Quick answer: For most homes the best air purifier is the Philips PureProtect 2200: a 420 m³/h CADR, a filter rated for up to three years ($109) and a price of $357 to $449 at Appliances Online and JB Hi-Fi. On a tight budget, the Click CADR 400 at Bunnings moves 400 m³/h for $159. For a bedroom, the Philips Mini 900 ($229) is enough; for an open-plan living area, step up to the Philips 3200 ($399).

Updated 18 October 2026 · Prices checked 18 October 2026 at Australian retailers · By the Home Air Guide Australia editorial team

We may earn a commission when you buy through links on this page. It does not change what we recommend. How this works.

Our picks at a glance

Product
Philips
Best overallPureProtect 2200 Series (AC2220 / AC2221)
$357 Appliances Online
Click
Best budgetCADR 400 Air Purifier (TL2852)
$159 Bunnings
Levoit
Best value large roomCore 400S
$399 Bunnings
Philips
Best for living areasPureProtect 3200 Series (AC3220)
$399 JB Hi-Fi
Philips
Best for a bedroomPureProtect Mini 900 Series (AC0951)
$229 JB Hi-Fi
Coway
Quiet bedroom alternativeAirmega 150
$254 JB Hi-Fi
Shark
Lowest upkeepNeverChange5 Air Purifier (HP150)
$334 Appliances Online
Xiaomi
High CADR on AmazonAir Purifier 6 (AU version)
Price at the retailer
CADR420 m³/h (Philips, GB/T 18801-2022)400 m³/h433 m³/h (Amazon listing)520 m³/h (Philips, GB/T 18801-2022)250 m³/h281 m³/hNot published on the pages we read443 m³/h
Rated roomUp to 109 m²28 to 48 m² (Bunnings)Up to 90 m² (Bunnings, JB Hi-Fi)Up to 135 m²Up to 65 m²Up to 73 m²60 m² at 1 air change an hour; 12 m² at 4.8Up to 109 m²
Filter cost$109 (JB Hi-Fi)Not listed on the Bunnings page$79 (JB Hi-Fi)$159 (JB Hi-Fi)$69 (JB Hi-Fi)Not listed by the retailers we checked– None expected for up to 5 yearsNot listed by the retailers we checked
Why it's here420 m³/h CADR, a three-year filter at $109 and Philips' quietest purifier, from $357.400 m³/h for $159 at Bunnings, with an honest 28 to 48 m² room rating.433 m³/h and a PM2.5 display for $399 at Bunnings and JB Hi-Fi; $79 filter.520 m³/h from 36 W in a compact tower, $399 at JB Hi-Fi and The Good Guys.250 m³/h in a 36 cm unit, 20.5 dB in Sleep mode, $69 filter.281 m³/h and 20 dB on low in a slim body, sold by Coway's own Australian accounts.No filter to buy for up to five years, and Shark states the air-change basis of its room size.443 m³/h with five sensors; Amazon Australia was the only retailer we found selling it.
Watch out forAppliances Online lists 45 dB when working, so the top speed is far from silentNo published noise figure or filter lifeRoom claims vary by listing: 90 m² at Bunnings, 166 m² once an hour on AmazonTwo filters a year at $159 makes it the dearest Philips here to runA 65 m² rating is one air change an hour at best; treat it as a bedroom purifierNo appReal room size is about 12 m² at a useful air-change rateOnly Amazon had it among the retailers we checked
BuyCheck Amazon$357 at Appliances Online$449 at JB Hi-Fi$159 at BunningsCheck Amazon$399 at Bunnings$399 at JB Hi-FiCheck Amazon$399 at JB Hi-Fi$399 at The Good Guys$466 at Appliances OnlineCheck Amazon$229 at JB Hi-Fi$254 at Appliances OnlineCheck Amazon$254 at JB Hi-FiCheck Amazon$334 at Appliances Online$359 at JB Hi-FiCheck Amazon
Best overallPhilips PureProtect 2200 Series (AC2220 / AC2221)

420 m³/h CADR, a three-year filter at $109 and Philips' quietest purifier, from $357.

$357 at Appliances Online · checked 18 Oct 2026

Best budgetClick CADR 400 Air Purifier (TL2852)

400 m³/h for $159 at Bunnings, with an honest 28 to 48 m² room rating.

$159 at Bunnings · checked 18 Oct 2026

Best value large roomLevoit Core 400S

433 m³/h and a PM2.5 display for $399 at Bunnings and JB Hi-Fi; $79 filter.

$399 at Bunnings · checked 18 Oct 2026

Best for living areasPhilips PureProtect 3200 Series (AC3220)

520 m³/h from 36 W in a compact tower, $399 at JB Hi-Fi and The Good Guys.

$399 at JB Hi-Fi · checked 18 Oct 2026

Best for a bedroomPhilips PureProtect Mini 900 Series (AC0951)

250 m³/h in a 36 cm unit, 20.5 dB in Sleep mode, $69 filter.

$229 at JB Hi-Fi · checked 18 Oct 2026

Quiet bedroom alternativeCoway Airmega 150

281 m³/h and 20 dB on low in a slim body, sold by Coway's own Australian accounts.

$254 at JB Hi-Fi · checked 18 Oct 2026

Lowest upkeepShark NeverChange5 Air Purifier (HP150)

No filter to buy for up to five years, and Shark states the air-change basis of its room size.

$334 at Appliances Online · checked 18 Oct 2026

High CADR on AmazonXiaomi Air Purifier 6 (AU version)

443 m³/h with five sensors; Amazon Australia was the only retailer we found selling it.

Price at the retailer

Price at the retailer named, checked 18 October 2026. Prices change, so the retailer's page is the final word. We can't show Amazon prices here; the Amazon button shows today's price. Paid links: we may earn a commission. The highlighted pick is the one we'd buy for most people.

How we picked: We compared these 8 picks on cadr, rated room, filter cost and price, using maker specs, Australian retailer prices and owner reports. We haven't tested them hands-on yet, and maker claims are labelled as theirs. Commission never changes the order. Full method.

An air purifier is a fan pushing room air through a filter, so the honest comparison comes down to three numbers: how much air it cleans per hour, how loud it is doing it, and what the filters cost each year. Prices below are from Appliances Online, JB Hi-Fi, The Good Guys and Bunnings on 18 October 2026; for the models also on Amazon Australia, check the current price on Amazon. We compared maker specifications, retailer listings and filter prices; we have not run these purifiers in our own home.

CADR is the number that matters

CADR (clean air delivery rate) is the volume of filtered air a purifier delivers per hour at full speed, in cubic metres. Divide it by your room’s volume and you get air changes per hour, which is what actually decides whether the air in the room gets cleaner or the purifier just stirs it.

Two worked examples, both with a 2.4 m ceiling:

  • A 4 x 4 m bedroom holds about 38 m³. The Philips Mini 900 (250 m³/h) changes that air about 6.5 times an hour.
  • A 6 x 5 m living area holds 72 m³. The Philips 2200 (420 m³/h) manages about 5.8 changes an hour; the Mini 900 would manage 3.5.

Keep two things in mind. CADR is measured at the top fan speed, which is also the loudest, so a purifier that only meets your target on turbo will rarely be run that way. And makers do not all test the same way: Philips states its figures were tested to the Chinese standard GB/T 18801-2022, while some brands publish no CADR at all. Compare CADRs where the test is stated, and treat a missing CADR as a missing answer, not a small one.

Why the room sizes on the box disagree

The room size printed on the box is the least useful figure on it, because each brand picks its own assumption about how often the air is changed. The listings we read on 18 October show how far apart they are:

Purifier CADR Room size claimed What that works out to
Click CADR 400 (Bunnings) 400 m³/h 28 to 48 m² About 3.5 to 6 changes an hour
Levoit Core 400S 433 m³/h 90 m² (Bunnings, JB Hi-Fi); 166 m² “once an hour” (Amazon) About 2 changes an hour at 90 m², 1 at 166 m²
Shark NeverChange5 HP150 Not published 60 m² at 1 change an hour, or 12 m² at 4.8 (Shark, on Amazon) Shark states it; useful size is about 12 m²
Dyson HushJet Compact Not published 100 m², “based on 1 ACH” (Dyson) One change an hour
Philips 2200 420 m³/h 109 m² About 1.6 changes an hour

Two purifiers with almost the same CADR, the Click and the Levoit, are sold for rooms of 48 m² and 166 m². Neither is lying; they just assume very different air-change rates. EPA Victoria’s fact sheet on portable air cleaners makes the same point from the other side: purifiers work better in rooms smaller than the maker’s maximum, and high ceilings need a bigger unit than floor area suggests.

The price ladder

Price Purifier CADR Genuine filter Where
$159 Click CADR 400 400 m³/h Not listed Bunnings
$229 Philips Mini 900 250 m³/h $69, up to 1 year JB Hi-Fi ($254 at Appliances Online)
$254 Coway Airmega 150 281 m³/h Not listed locally JB Hi-Fi Marketplace (sold by Coway)
$334 Shark NeverChange5 HP150 Not published Up to 5 years Appliances Online ($359 at JB Hi-Fi)
$357 Philips 2200 420 m³/h $109, up to 3 years Appliances Online ($449 white at JB Hi-Fi)
$399 Levoit Core 400S 433 m³/h $79, every 12 months Bunnings, JB Hi-Fi
$399 Philips 3200 520 m³/h $159 for two, up to 1 year JB Hi-Fi, The Good Guys

The Coway, Levoit, Philips, Shark and Xiaomi models are also on Amazon Australia, mostly sold by Amazon itself or the brand’s local distributor; check the current price on Amazon.

The picks

The Philips PureProtect 2200 is the one we would buy for a typical home. Philips publishes a 420 m³/h CADR tested to GB/T 18801-2022, rates the filter for up to three years, and the replacement (FY2200/30) is $109 at JB Hi-Fi, so it costs about $36 a year in filters. It runs from 13 dB(A) on its lowest setting; Appliances Online lists 45 dB when working, which is the figure to expect on a high speed. The black AC2221 was $357 at Appliances Online and the white AC2220 $423 there and $449 at JB Hi-Fi.

The Click CADR 400 is the budget pick: 400 m³/h for $159 at Bunnings, a HEPA 13 filter with a carbon layer, and a room rating (28 to 48 m²) that already assumes several air changes an hour. What you give up is information: Bunnings lists no noise figure, filter life or replacement filter.

The Levoit Core 400S sits between them at $399, with a 433 m³/h CADR on Levoit’s Amazon listing, a laser PM2.5 sensor and a $79 yearly filter. Bunnings sells it as a special order. The Philips 3200 is the step up for open-plan rooms: 520 m³/h from 36 W in a 52 cm tower, and the same $399 at JB Hi-Fi and The Good Guys on the day we checked. Its two filters cost $159 a year, and Philips’ own filter page carries owner complaints about FY3200 stock, so buy a spare before summer.

For a bedroom, the Philips Mini 900 (250 m³/h, 20.5 dB in Sleep mode, 23 W) and the Coway Airmega 150 (281 m³/h, 20 dB on low, 16.5 cm deep) both cover a standard room several times an hour. The Shark NeverChange5 trades a published CADR for no filter purchases for up to five years; Shark’s footnote says that life is measured to a 50 percent drop in CADR at 12 hours a day. The Xiaomi Air Purifier 6 (443 m³/h) was only on Amazon among the retailers we checked.

Choosing between the two premium brands? The Dyson vs Philips comparison goes model by model.

Running costs

Power is the small part. The purifiers here draw 23 W (Mini 900) to 66 W (Levoit Core 600S) at full speed, and much less on auto. A 36 W purifier running around the clock uses about 0.86 kWh a day at full speed; multiply by the rate on your power bill. Filters are the real cost: $69 to $179 a year for the genuine Philips and Levoit filters at JB Hi-Fi, less for the Philips 2200’s three-year filter, nothing for up to five years on the Shark. Philips notes that filter life depends on air quality and use, so a smoky summer shortens it.

What to skip

Skip anything sold on ionisers or “purifying” fragrance alone. NSW Health’s bushfire smoke advice says humidifiers, negative ion generators and odour absorbers do not remove the fine particles in smoke, and EPA Victoria advises a True HEPA filter. A purifier reduces airborne particles at the stated CADR; it does not fix damp, so if the problem is condensation or mould, start with the dehumidifier guide. Anything that plugs into the wall should carry the RCM electrical safety mark.

The one trap

Buying on the room size printed on the box. The same 400-odd m³/h of CADR is sold for 48 m² by one brand and 166 m² by another, and Dyson and Shark both state their headline room sizes at one air change an hour. Measure the room, multiply by the ceiling height, and divide the CADR by that. If the answer is under four, buy the next size up or a second unit.

The picks in detail

Best overall

Philips PureProtect 2200 Series (AC2220 / AC2221)

$357 at appliancesonline.com.au · checked 18 Oct 2026

420 m³/h CADR, a three-year filter at $109 and Philips' quietest purifier, from $357.

  • CADR: 420 m³/h (Philips, GB/T 18801-2022)
  • Rated room: Up to 109 m²
  • Noise: From 13 dB(A)
  • Power: 28 W (Amazon listing)
  • Filter: FY2200/30, up to 3 years
  • Filter cost: $109 (JB Hi-Fi)
  • Warranty: 2 years

Pros

  • High CADR for its size: Philips says it clears a 20 m² room in under 7 minutes
  • Filter rated for up to 3 years, so the yearly filter cost is low
  • Philips' quietest purifier, from 13 dB(A) on the lowest setting
  • App control and an air quality sensor that sets the fan speed

Cons

  • Appliances Online lists 45 dB when working, so the top speed is far from silent
  • Amazon's listing quotes 400 m³/h and 104 m², a little below Philips' own figures
  • The 109 m² room rating is generous; size it on air changes, not the box
Check price at Amazon Australia$357 at Appliances Online$449 at JB Hi-Fi
Best budget

Click CADR 400 Air Purifier (TL2852)

$159 at bunnings.com.au · checked 18 Oct 2026

400 m³/h for $159 at Bunnings, with an honest 28 to 48 m² room rating.

  • CADR: 400 m³/h
  • Rated room: 28 to 48 m² (Bunnings)
  • Noise: Not stated
  • Power: 45 W maximum
  • Filter: Pre-filter, HEPA 13 and carbon
  • Filter cost: Not listed on the Bunnings page
  • Warranty: Not stated on the listing

Pros

  • 400 m³/h for $159, the most CADR per dollar we found
  • An honest room rating: 28 to 48 m², which works out at roughly three to six air changes an hour
  • Bunnings returns and in-store pick-up

Cons

  • No published noise figure or filter life
  • No app; auto mode runs off a simple air quality light
  • We could not find its replacement filter listed at Bunnings
$159 at Bunnings
Best value large room

Levoit Core 400S

$399 at bunnings.com.au · checked 18 Oct 2026

433 m³/h and a PM2.5 display for $399 at Bunnings and JB Hi-Fi; $79 filter.

  • CADR: 433 m³/h (Amazon listing)
  • Rated room: Up to 90 m² (Bunnings, JB Hi-Fi)
  • Noise: From 24 dB
  • Power: 38 W (Amazon listing)
  • Filter: Core 400S-RF, replace every 12 months
  • Filter cost: $79 (JB Hi-Fi)
  • Warranty: 2 years (Levoit)

Pros

  • 433 m³/h CADR for $399, with a PM2.5 laser sensor and display
  • Sold at Bunnings, JB Hi-Fi and by Levoit's own Amazon store
  • Genuine filter $79 a year

Cons

  • Room claims vary by listing: 90 m² at Bunnings, 166 m² once an hour on Amazon
  • Special order at Bunnings, not on the shelf
Check price at Amazon Australia$399 at Bunnings$399 at JB Hi-Fi
Best for living areas

Philips PureProtect 3200 Series (AC3220)

$399 at jbhifi.com.au · checked 18 Oct 2026

520 m³/h from 36 W in a compact tower, $399 at JB Hi-Fi and The Good Guys.

  • CADR: 520 m³/h (Philips, GB/T 18801-2022)
  • Rated room: Up to 135 m²
  • Noise: From 15 dB(A)
  • Power: 36 W at maximum
  • Filter: FY3200/30 (2 filters), up to 1 year
  • Filter cost: $159 (JB Hi-Fi)
  • Warranty: 2 years

Pros

  • Two fans and a 520 m³/h CADR in a 52 cm tower
  • Draws only 36 W at full speed, so it can run all day in smoke season
  • $399 at JB Hi-Fi and The Good Guys, only about $40 more than the 2200 on sale

Cons

  • Two filters a year at $159 makes it the dearest Philips here to run
  • Philips' own filter page carries owner complaints about FY3200 filters being out of stock
  • Amazon showed 1 to 2 months to dispatch on the day we checked
Check price at Amazon Australia$399 at JB Hi-Fi$399 at The Good Guys$466 at Appliances Online
Best for a bedroom

Philips PureProtect Mini 900 Series (AC0951)

$229 at jbhifi.com.au · checked 18 Oct 2026

250 m³/h in a 36 cm unit, 20.5 dB in Sleep mode, $69 filter.

  • CADR: 250 m³/h
  • Rated room: Up to 65 m²
  • Noise: 20.5 dB in Sleep mode
  • Power: 23 W at maximum
  • Filter: FY0910/30, up to 1 year
  • Filter cost: $69 (JB Hi-Fi)
  • Warranty: 2 years

Pros

  • A 250 m³/h CADR in a 36 cm, 2.7 kg unit
  • 23 W at full speed
  • Cheapest genuine filter of the Philips range at $69

Cons

  • A 65 m² rating is one air change an hour at best; treat it as a bedroom purifier
  • Philips' filter page carries owner reports of FY0910 filters being out of stock
Check price at Amazon Australia$229 at JB Hi-Fi$254 at Appliances Online
Quiet bedroom alternative

Coway Airmega 150

$254 at jbhifi.com.au · checked 18 Oct 2026

281 m³/h and 20 dB on low in a slim body, sold by Coway's own Australian accounts.

  • CADR: 281 m³/h
  • Rated room: Up to 73 m²
  • Noise: From 20 dB
  • Power: Not stated on the pages we read
  • Filter: Up to 12 months
  • Filter cost: Not listed by the retailers we checked
  • Warranty: 2 years (Amazon listing)

Pros

  • 281 m³/h CADR in a slim 16.5 cm deep body
  • Quiet Mark certified; Coway quotes 20 dB
  • Sold by Coway's own Australian accounts on Amazon and JB Hi-Fi Marketplace

Cons

  • No app
  • We could not find a genuine filter price at an Australian retailer
Check price at Amazon Australia$254 at JB Hi-Fi
Lowest upkeep

Shark NeverChange5 Air Purifier (HP150)

$334 at appliancesonline.com.au · checked 18 Oct 2026

No filter to buy for up to five years, and Shark states the air-change basis of its room size.

  • CADR: Not published on the pages we read
  • Rated room: 60 m² at 1 air change an hour; 12 m² at 4.8
  • Noise: Not stated
  • Power: 26 W (Amazon listing)
  • Filter: Up to 5 years (Shark)
  • Filter cost: None expected for up to 5 years
  • Warranty: 2 years

Pros

  • No filter to buy for up to five years, by Shark's test
  • Shark states the air-change basis of its room rating, which most makers do not
  • Senses PM1, PM2.5 and PM10

Cons

  • Real room size is about 12 m² at a useful air-change rate
  • Releases a fragrance as it runs (Shark says the level is set by a dial)
  • Five-year filter life is measured to a 50 percent drop in CADR
Check price at Amazon Australia$334 at Appliances Online$359 at JB Hi-Fi
High CADR on Amazon

Xiaomi Air Purifier 6 (AU version)

See retailer · checked 18 Oct 2026

443 m³/h with five sensors; Amazon Australia was the only retailer we found selling it.

  • CADR: 443 m³/h
  • Rated room: Up to 109 m²
  • Noise: 18.65 dB(A) in Sleep mode
  • Power: 40 W (Amazon listing)
  • Filter: HEPA composite
  • Filter cost: Not listed by the retailers we checked
  • Warranty: Not stated on the listing

Pros

  • 443 m³/h CADR with five sensors (PM1, PM2.5, dust, temperature, humidity)
  • Sold as the Australian-compliant version, shipped by Amazon AU
  • Works with the Mi Home app, Alexa and Google Assistant

Cons

  • Only Amazon had it among the retailers we checked
  • No local filter price found
Check price at Amazon Australia

Frequently asked questions

What size air purifier do I need?

Work out the room's volume (floor area times ceiling height), then divide the purifier's CADR by it to get air changes an hour. A 4 x 4 m bedroom with a 2.4 m ceiling holds about 38 m³, so a 250 m³/h purifier changes its air about 6.5 times an hour. Aim for four to five changes an hour and ignore the room size on the box.

What does CADR mean on an air purifier?

Clean air delivery rate: how many cubic metres of filtered air the purifier delivers per hour at top speed. It is the one number that lets you compare purifiers, as long as the makers tested to a similar standard. Philips, for example, quotes CADR tested to GB/T 18801-2022.

How much does it cost to run an air purifier?

Mostly filters. The purifiers here draw 23 to 66 watts at full speed, so a 36 W unit running 24 hours uses about 0.86 kWh a day; multiply by the rate on your power bill. Genuine filters cost $69 to $179 a year at JB Hi-Fi, or nothing for five years on the Shark and Dyson HushJet.

Do air purifiers help with bushfire smoke?

NSW Health suggests considering a purifier with a HEPA filter to remove smoke from indoor air, used in a small, well-sealed room, and says humidifiers, negative ion generators and odour absorbers do not remove the fine particles. Our bushfire smoke guide sizes purifiers for that job.

Where can I buy an air purifier in Australia?

Appliances Online, JB Hi-Fi and The Good Guys carry Philips, Shark and Dyson. Bunnings sells Click, Levoit and Winix. Levoit, Coway, Philips, Shark, Xiaomi and Dyson all sell on Amazon Australia, mostly shipped by Amazon or the brand's local distributor.